I Can’t Win Your Losing Fight

100 Lyrics into Stories — No80

Jillian Spiridon
2 min readSep 29, 2024

--

Image Generated by Author via Substack Image Generator

“Do you believe in fate?”

The vampire let out a plume of smoke from the hookah he held. A small smile played about his lips before he flashed a fang at her. “No, can’t say I do,” he said, “but I love to pretend to listen to women with crystal balls. They always have the most fascinating things to say.”

“Alexander James Harrow,” she said, “I think you may just change your mind.”

He coughed. “Using my full name? I feel like I’m in trouble.”

“No trouble. But I do want to warn you. Life may become very unfair soon.”

This is my third take on the 100 Story Challenge! Lyrics define these stories, and this piece‘s title was inspired by “Decode” from Paramore.

For the other stories in this iteration, check out the link below:

100 Lyrics into Stories

85 stories

If you missed out on rounds one and two, I’ve linked both my original 100 Story Challenge list as well as my 100 Faces in 100 Stories list below for your perusal if you’re curious.

--

--