Familiarity Breeds Contempt

100 Lyrics into Stories — No84

Jillian Spiridon
2 min readOct 13, 2024

--

“You always knew how to be a charmer.”

The words were like a slap as they came from the darkness, but the young woman bowed her head as if she were ready to say solemn prayers at the altar of an old god.

“Please,” she whispered. “Please spare my family.”

“Do you think you’ve earned the right to beg for anyone’s life, girl? When you’ve blasphemed in my name for far too long?”

“Please.” This time, the word choked out of her as if there were little room for her to breathe.

“Very well,” the creature sighed. “I’ll be kind.”

This is my third take on the 100 Story Challenge! Lyrics define these stories, and this piece‘s title was inspired by “Bejeweled” from Taylor Swift.

For the other stories in this iteration, check out the link below:

100 Lyrics into Stories

85 stories

If you missed out on rounds one and two, I’ve linked both my original 100 Story Challenge list as well as my 100 Faces in 100 Stories list below for your

--

--